Skip to content

The day before

It’s the evening before my trip. I’m double-checking my lists, starting to pack, and getting very nervous/excited. 

I have nothing in my database of experiences to pull from for this trip. No flights longer than five hours. No jet lag. No cross-ocean flights. I’ve been to Mexico and the U.S. Virgin Islands—nowhere that required a passport. This is going to be all new. 

Fourteen hours. That is the length of my direct flight from Chicago, IL, USA to Abu Dhabi, UAE. I think about how much I could get done with 14 free hours in one day. I wonder what I’ll get done in 14 hours on a plane. I’ll write little travel stories to post on my blog one I land. I’ve bought two books to read. I’ll have on-demand entertainment on the plane. The problem is, I don’t know how to sit still and be physically unproductive for so long. There will be no choice.

My plan in the coming weeks is to be a giant sponge. I want to soak up every delicious minute of all the things I will see, hear, smell, taste, and touch. I feel a little bit like a kid all over again—fresh-faced and eager to learn. Look out world, here I come.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Andrea #

    Checking this daily… Waiting for FIRST post, post arrival…
    Hurry…..

    September 16, 2011
  2. What did I really do on the flight? Slept. I think I must have slept for eight or nine hours. I highly recommend that as a way to pass time on a long flight. =) Oh, and I also watched a couple of travel documentaries and the movie Arthur.

    September 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

