Skip to content

Leaning tower of…

I zoomed in on this building from my balcony around sunrise this morning. Yes, the building that looks like it should fall over. I noticed it right away when I got to Abu Dhabi. Last night at the mall, we were looking through the newest Guinness Book of World Records. It turns out this building is in the book for being the “furthest manmade leaning building.” Here is a short blip from the Guinness website:

The farthest manmade leaning building is ‘Capital Gate´ which has an inclination of 18 degrees and is 160 m (524.93 ft) high. It was developed by the Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Company, (ADNEC) and designed by RMJM and the external construction was completed in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, in January 2010.

I’m pretty sure I read that the Capital Gate leans four times more than the leaning tower of Pisa. Pretty cool. I may have to get a closer look.

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I just looked that building up online. Looks very different than your view. I say get closer =) THat is wicked. It almost looks like a rolled and flattened newspaper. Amazing what architects think of.

    September 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

