Skip to content

Really on vacation

Today is the first day I really feel like I’m on vacation. Maybe because it’s Monday in the United States and I’m not at work. Maybe because it’s the first day I haven’t slept in until 9 a.m. and then needed a three hour nap in the middle of the day. Or maybe it’s because I spent three glorious hours at the pool, reading a book, sitting the shade, surrounded by palm trees. I’m not looking at a clock. I’m not checking email (okay, I am, but not as often). I’m just enjoying being somwhere new and exciting.

I’m reading Water for Elephants. I should have it finished tomorrow at the rate I’m going. It’s a good story, but it paints a dismal portrait of the circus trade. Sick animals, dirty conditions, greasy food, employees not getting paid, segregation of workers, and on and on. It makes a person thankful for a good job, a good home, and readily available food. It really is the simple things in life that we can appreciate. I had wanted to see the movie Water for Elephants, but now I need to finish the book first. The movie was available on my flight to Abu Dhabi, but I decided to wait and watch it when I fly back to the U.S. I hope its still available then. To be honest, this is probably the first time I’ll ever have read a book, then seen the movie. I usually just see the movie.

Right now I’m sitting in the lounge on the 18th floor of my hotel. I’m overlooking the water and “construction island.” I can also see the Grand Mosque and “leaning” building in the distance off to the right. To my left, closer to me than the mosque, is the Gulf of Oman. The water is a pretty greenish blue.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. First of all…I am happy that you are having such a great experience so far. You are one of the bravest people I know! So I am saying I AM PROUD OF YOU!

    What cool views huh? This is a different animal than the US. It’s nice to see progress in a country that is not the US, just to see that it can be done. What a life to be living right now.

    September 19, 2011
  2. I’m proud of you too…. could never do what you are doing. I read Water for Elephants years ago, and re’read it since I’ve heard the movie was coming out~ it’s amazing. Can’t wait to see what new experiences you stumble across….

    September 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

