Skip to content

It’s a hazy day

It’s hazy outside and it’s hazy in my head. The haze outside is like a far off fog that won’t lift. I’ve been outside and it’s not any more humid than usual, but it is more windy. Maybe what I’m seeing is sand. The haze in my head is something I can’t put my finger on. Maybe lingering jet lag. Maybe lack of sleep—I still wake up at midnight and stay awake for a couple of hours. Come on body, catch up to your surroundings.

Blue Olive Design is open for business today and tomorrow. I’ve already worked half a day and it’s just about the start of the day back in Indiana. It’s a funny feeling. I keep expecting responses to emails, but I know everyone has been sleeping or getting ready for the start of the work day.

I’m working from the 18th floor lounge. I love it up here. The employees are wonderful and it’s a comfortable atmosphere. The view outside of the construction and water is a nice change from my usual desk view, although I will miss being home after a while. Not just yet. =) Right now the change is good for my soul.

As I’m typing, it’s 3:45 p.m. At 4 p.m., the lounge will put out snacks for the tea hour. Little cucumber and salmon sandwiches with the crusts cut off, tiny scones, chocolate covered strawberries…I’ve been waiting for this almost two hours. I missed lunch today. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

