Skip to content

Friday feast

I learned yesterday that Friday in Abu Dhabi is all about eating. It’s the first day of the weekend and I think it’s all about gluttony. The Friday brunch is famous. In the hotel yesterday I saw this in full force. Where the grand buffet is, tables were reserved well in advance. We were able to sit in one of the nearby restaurants. Here’s how this worked. The buffet was available as usual, but all the restaurants also had buffets set up. So we could go from restaurant to restaurant and out into the main buffet and eat whatever we wanted for the price of admission. We were sitting in the Japanese restaurant, so we started with some sushi. I went next door to the German restaurant for my next plate of food. 

Dad, this one’s for you. I thought about you immediately in the German restaurant. It was all food you would just love. Clearly I love it, too, because I filled up a plate. At the far end was a whole suckling pig. Then were was a long row of warm foods – sausages, mashed potatoes, green and red sauerkrauts, German potato salad, lentil soup…on and on. I wish you had been there, Dad. We would have had a great feast. 

So apparently the Friday brunch goes on for hours, followed by napping. I say we start this tradition in America. Sleep in on Saturday, get up and lazily eat brunch for two hours, then take a nap. That sure beats my normal routine of cramming as many errands into the weekend as I can, then feeling like I’ve had no down time. 

After our brunch extravaganza, we took a little nap. Then we went to a sports bar at a nearby hotel and watched rugby. What a tough sport. It’s the NFL without helmets or pads. After rugby we went to the pool at our hotel. They have a swim up bar, so we had a pina colada and soaked in the atmosphere. Before we knew it, it was time to eat again. See, I said I couldn’t go a day without talking about food. We kept it simple last night and split a pizza at the Italian restaurant. Tomato, basil, and buffalo mozzarella. Mmmm. Mmmm.

Today we are taking a tour around Abu Dhabi. Darren is the tour guide. He’s finishing his workout and I’m finishing being spoiled in the lounge. Then we are off. I’ll report later. 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Andrea #

    Reading every one of these. Am checking every day!

    September 24, 2011
  2. lostinohio #

    How wonderful! Sounds like my kind of lifestyle. Keep enjoying yourself!

    September 24, 2011
  3. Oh my…I am loving your description of food. That german feast sounds like a polish buffet in Mishawaka. Minus the suckling pig =) Did I tell you I fould polish sausage at Wegman’s? Sounds strange, but you can’t find the kind of polish sausage we know from Indiana, in Virginia.

    September 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

