Skip to content

Workout on base

Yesterday was a wonderful, lazy day. It was the last day of the weekend in Bahrain. We had breakfast and then watched two movies – Bridesmaids and Thor. In the afternoon we got motivated enough to go workout on base. Getting me on and off the Navy base is finally becoming a more normal process. They made a copy of my passport on a piece of pink paper. I carry that with me and turn it in each time. In return I get a guest pass and I have to remain with Darren at all times (like I would know where to go without him). 

We changed into workout clothes and went to the gym in Darren’s warehouse building. His office is right by the gym, which is nice. My sister would love to have that kind of setup. It was the weekend, so the building was mostly empty. There were two men working out in the gym—both shirtless because they had ridiculously ripped bodies they wanted to show off. But I hardly noticed…=)

Darren and I ran on treadmills for 40 minutes. I kept thinking to myself, here I am in another unique situation. Working out inside a Navy base in the Middle East. The gym overlooks the warehouse below. There is a row of offices all around the perimeter on the second floor. In the middle of the warehouse is an enormous American flag. 

After the workout I used the women’s locker room to clean up. Darren showered and changed in his locker room and we met back up at his office. Then we went to the NEX. Here I have to trade my entry guest badge for a NEX guest badge. Being cleared on base doesn’t clear me directly to go into the NEX. We picked up some groceries to make dinner. I’ve been trying to get Darren to eat more vegetables, so I picked up ingredients for a stir fry—fresh snow peas, broccoli, mushrooms, and garlic. The produce section of the NEX is small, but the vegetables looked great. I did notice there is no fresh meat. Everything is frozen, which I’m sure is all about shipping. Even the bread was cold from having been frozen. I’ll have to keep that in mind as I think about meals to cook. It will be a good challenge for me.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. lostinohio #

    Ok, first of all….. ripped men chests??? Hello, what an awesome vacation ! (why didn’t you have your camera??) Second, what is NEX? Third, so many veggie things you can make; although they are mostly cold weather meals~~ chili, lasagna, any sort of pasta….. Is it warm there?
    love reading about all your experiences! XOXOXO

    October 2, 2011
  2. First, NEX is short for Navy Exchange. It’s their grocery, clothing, and housewares store on base. Second, I love veggie meals. Third, oh yes, it’s warm here. Around 100 degrees every day with high humidity. You can’t walk to your car without sweating.

    October 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

