Skip to content

Sleepy Girl

My travel to Bahrain went as smooth as it possibly could have. The airports were all quiet, transportation was smooth, I had an empty seat next to me on the long flight, and I found Darren at the Abu Dhabi airport with no trouble. I think altogether it took about 19 hours to get door to door, but it’s worth it. Now that I’m back in Bahrain, it kind of feels like I never left. I was noticing things that have changed since I was last here—new construction and such. The dirt street outside Darren’s flat is slowly being paved. When I say slow, I mean they’ve paved about 20 yards since I was here six months ago. Ha! It does help, though.

As you may notice from the title of this post, it’s been a lazy day. I slept in and I’ve already had two good naps today. But that’s what post-travel day is for. I actually feel pretty good overall.

Let’s talk about food. If you know me, you know I love to cook and eat. We had brunch today at The Dome. This is the place near base that has the best latte I’ve ever had. It’s a restaurant out of Australia and unfortunately they are nowhere in the U.S. Great food, broad menu, and seriously good coffee. I had a large latte that did not disappoint. I followed that with a stack of banana pancakes, my first real meal in 24 hours. Plane food does not count as a meal. I requested vegetarian meals on the plane because something about airplane meat is not right. All I had eaten in 20+ hours was a tiny salad, broccoli, a few bites of bad pasta, water crackers, green beans, and cubed carrots and peas. I noticed the man sitting closest to me had a chocolate-dipped cookie on his last plate of food. Why didn’t I get a cookie? Requesting a vegetarian meal doesn’t mean I’m avoiding desserts. Odd. Then I wondered if the cookie was somehow made with a meat product. Yuck. Let’s not go there.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh your airplane food sounds horrid! Glad you got a good meal and your latte. I’m also glad that you had that empty plan seat, that makes such a difference. I couldn’t imagine being next to someone annoying for 20 hours =)

    Did you see any good movies?

    March 1, 2012
    • I watched the movie with Justin Timberlake where the currency is time. Not bad.

      March 3, 2012
  2. I saw that in the theatre. He’s a good actor, and very good on the eyes, ya know =) WhoWHo!!

    March 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

